HOME ARTICLES CONTACT HISTORY NEWS FRANÇAIS

Facebook Twitter YouTube

September 2016 Night Sky at a Glance

by Pouria Nazemi

Well, the lovely days of summer are numbered, and the countdown for the fall has already begun.

If you love the night sky, I am sure that you will find some motivation to go out even in the coldest nights of the winter, but you have to admit it is not an easy task, and even if you are out there, it is no guarantee that the weather will collaborate with you. So enjoy the last days of the summer, and take a look at the magnificent night sky before the first signs of the winter show up.

September is the transition month between summer and fall, and it is time for transition in the night sky as well.

The famous Summer Triangle started reducing its distance to the western horizon. This triangle actually is a staple of the summer sky. The three vertices of this triangle are Altair (the brightest star of Aquila, with an apparent magnitude of 0.75), Deneb (the brightest star of Cygnus, with an apparent magnitude of 1.25), and Vega (the brightest star of Lyra, with an apparent magnitude of 0). These three bright stars are key to finding your way in the summer night sky. But now, it is time for a new group of constellations to take over, and the most famous constellation of the fall is the great square of Pegasus, the mythological divine winged horse.

Pegasus and its surroundings
Pegasus and its surroundings. Click to enlarge.
Image courtesy of Starry Night, a Simulation Curriculum company.

All four stars that shape this giant celestial square are second-magnitude. However, one of them is not part of Pegasus; the fourth star of this group is called Alpheratz (magnitude 2) and is the leader of a V-shaped and very famous constellation: Andromeda.

By finding this square in the sky, you can find Andromeda, and this is the first step to look for a very unique deep sky object: Messier 31, the Andromeda Galaxy. If you are away from light pollution, you can see this giant spiral galaxy with the naked eye. This little patch of foggy light is actually a galaxy with around 1 trillion stars, and at a distance of 2.5 million light-years from us. So—thanks to Albert Einstein and the fact that the speed of light is constant—when you look at it, you are actually looking at this galaxy in the state that it was 2.5 million years ago… The night sky is the only available time machine that we have!

There are many more deep sky objects in the September and fall night sky, but we’ll talk about them in the coming months; for now, let’s take a look at a few special events of September 2016…

September 2016 eclipse map
© NASA / Fred Espenak

September will begin with a New Moon and an annular solar eclipse. This eclipse is not observable from Canada (see visibility map, right). The best place to watch it is Africa. An annular eclipse happens when the apparent angular size of the Moon is less than the apparent angular size of the disc of the Sun. So when the Moon covers the face of the Sun, you still can see a ring of sunlight around the Moon, which is usually called the “ring of fire.” In this kind of solar eclipse, you need to keep safety filters on your eyes all the time. And although it is a great opportunity to capture magnificent photos for amateur astronomers and eclipse chasers, there is very little scientific value in observing an annular eclipse.

Moon and bright planets
The Moon and bright planets Venus and Jupiter. Click to enlarge.
Image courtesy of Starry Night, a Simulation Curriculum company.

In the evening of September 2 and 3, try to find a place with an open western horizon. The Sun will set around 19:30 EST, and you will have 40 minutes (on Sept. 2) to around an hour (Sep. 3) to catch the crescent Moon with bright planets Venus and Jupiter just beside it.

Venus will shine with a magnitude of −3.9, and Jupiter at −1.6. If you are interested in landscape astrophotography, this is a great chance: Just find a good location with an open western horizon, locate the position of the Moon and Venus, choose a good background, and take your shot! Don’t forget to use long exposures, and try a few different settings.

If you want to check some samples for this kind of photography, take a look at the TWAN (The World At Night) Project.

Starting the month with an annular solar eclipse means—as you may anticipate—we will have a lunar eclipse at the middle of the month. This is going to be a penumbral lunar eclipse, which will happen on Sept. 16, but it will not be visible from any place in Canada.

And finally, on September 22, summer will officially end. This is the Autumn or Fall Equinox (for the northern hemisphere, and of course the Spring Equinox for people who live in the southern hemisphere). On that day, the Sun will cross (on its apparent path, the ecliptic) the celestial equator from North to South, so the duration of the night will be equal to that of the day—after that date, nights become longer than days until the December solstice.

So welcome to the fall, but before I say goodbye to summer, there is one more event in September.

Between all of the planets that you could see with the naked eye, Mercury is the most difficult one to catch. The reason is not that Mercury isn’t bright enough; it is. But at the same time, it is too close to the Sun; most of the time, it is hidden in the brightness of the Sun, and there are few days that you actually have a good chance to see it. It is odd, but the truth is that many amateur astronomers have never seen it!

The best time for observing Mercury is when it reaches a point called “greatest elongation.” This is the time when Mercury has the largest angular separation from the Sun, which means you have a chance to see it before sunrise or after sunset.

Mercury between the Moon and the Sun
Mercury between the Moon and the Sun, with some lens flares. Click to enlarge.
Image courtesy of Starry Night, a Simulation Curriculum company.

On September 28, Mercury will be at its greatest western elongation. It will thus be to the West of the Sun, and will rise around one and a half hour before it. If you want to catch it, you have to wake up a little early; Mercury will rise at 5:15 EDT, and if you have a clear sky and open sight to the East, then you can catch it before sunrise. Good luck!

I hope you will enjoy your adventure under the starry night of September. Feel free to tell us about it!

 

© 2016 Astronomy-Quebec and its Collaborators · All Rights Reserved

ACCUEIL CONFÉRENCES ARTICLES MAGAZINE HISTOIRE VIDÉOS CONTACT NOUVELLES ÉDITORIAUX LIENS ENGLISH

Facebook Twitter YouTube

Le ciel de septembre 2016 en un coup d’œil

par Pouria Nazemi

Eh ! bien, les beaux jours de l’été sont comptés, et le compte à rebours de l’automne est déjà commencé.

Si vous aimez le ciel de nuit, je suis sûr que vous trouverez une certaine motivation pour sortir même lors des plus froides nuits d’hiver, mais il faut admettre que ce n’est pas une tâche facile, et même si vous êtes dehors, il n’y a aucune garantie que la météo va collaborer avec vous. Alors profitez des derniers jours de l'été, et jetez un œil au magnifique ciel nocturne avant que les premiers signes de l’hiver n’arrivent.

Septembre est un mois de transition entre l’été et l’automne, et c’est un temps de transition aussi dans le ciel de nuit.

Le célèbre Triangle d’été a commencé à se rapprocher de l’horizon ouest. Ce triangle est en fait un repère de base du ciel d’été. Les trois sommets de ce triangle sont Altaïr (la plus brillante étoile de l’Aigle, avec une magnitude apparente de 0,75), Déneb (la plus brillante étoile du Cygne, avec une magnitude apparente de 1,25), et Véga (la plus brillante étoile de la Lyre, avec une magnitude apparente de 0). Ces trois étoiles brillantes sont essentielles pour trouver votre chemin dans le ciel de nuit estival. Mais maintenant, c’est temps pour un nouveau groupe de constellations d’assumer ce rôle, et la plus célèbre constellation de l’automne est le grand carré de Pégase, le cheval ailé divin mythologique.

Pégase et ses environs
Pégase et ses environs. Cliquer pour agrandir.
Image gracieuseté de Starry Night, une compagnie Simulation Curriculum.

Les quatre étoiles qui forment ce carré céleste géant sont de deuxième magnitude. Cependant, l’une d’entre elle ne fait pas partie de Pégase ; la quatrième étoile de ce groupe est appelée Alpheratz (magnitude 2) et est la plus brillante d’une constellation en forme de V et très célèbre : Andromède.

En trouvant ce carré dans le ciel, vous pouvez trouver Andromède, et ceci est la première étape pour trouver un objet de ciel profond unique : Messier 31, la galaxie d’Andromède. Si vous êtes loin de la pollution lumineuse, vous pouvez voir cette galaxie spirale géante à l’œil nu. Cette petite tache de lumière brumeuse est en fait une galaxie avec près d’un billion (mille milliards) d’étoiles, et à une distance de 2,5 millions d’années-lumière de nous. Ainsi, grâce à Albert Einstein et au fait que la vitesse de la lumière est constante, quand vous regardez cette galaxie, vous la voyez dans l’état où elle était il y a 2,5 millions d’années… Le ciel nocturne est la seule machine à remonter le temps que nous avons pour l’instant !

Il y a beaucoup plus d’objets de ciel profond dans le ciel nocturne de septembre et d’automne, mais nous allons parler d’eux dans les prochains mois ; pour l’instant, nous allons jeter un œil à quelques évènements spéciaux de septembre 2016…

Carte de l’éclipse de septembre 2016
© NASA / Fred Espenak

Septembre va commencer avec une nouvelle lune et une éclipse annulaire de Soleil. Cette éclipse n’est pas observable du Canada (voir carte de visibilité, à droite). Le meilleur endroit pour l’observer est l’Afrique. Une éclipse annulaire se produit lorsque la taille angulaire apparente de la Lune est inférieure à la taille angulaire apparente du disque du Soleil. Alors, quand la Lune recouvre la face du Soleil, vous pouvez toujours voir un anneau de lumière solaire autour de la Lune ; on appelle habituellement cela un « cercle de feu ». Dans ce genre d’éclipse solaire, vous devez garder les filtres de sécurité sur vos yeux tout le temps. Et bien que ce soit une grande opportunité pour capturer de magnifiques photos pour les astronomes amateurs et chasseurs d’éclipse, il y a très peu de valeur scientifique dans l’observation d’une éclipse annulaire.

La Lune et les planètes brillantes
La Lune et les planètes brillantes Vénus et Jupiter. Cliquer pour agrandir.
Image gracieuseté de Starry Night, une compagnie Simulation Curriculum.

Dans la soirée du 2 au 3 septembre, essayez de trouver un endroit avec un horizon ouest dégagé. Le Soleil se couchera autour de 19 h 30 HAE, et vous aurez 40 minutes (le 2 septembre) à environ une heure (le 3 septembre) pour voir le croissant de Lune et les planètes brillantes Vénus et Jupiter juste à côté.

Venus aura une magnitude de −3,9, et Jupiter de −1,6. Si vous êtes intéressée par l’astrophotographie de paysage, ceci est votre chance : il suffit de trouver un bon emplacement avec un horizon ouest dégagé, de localiser la Lune et Vénus, de choisir un bon paysage, et de prendre votre photo ! N’oubliez pas d’utiliser une longue exposition, et essayez quelques réglages différents.

Si vous souhaitez voir quelques exemples de ce genre de photographie, jetez un œil au site du Projet TWAN (The World At Night) (en anglais).

Débuter le mois avec une éclipse annulaire de Soleil signifie, comme vous pouvez l’anticiper, que nous aurons une éclipse lunaire au milieu du mois. Ce sera une éclipse par la pénombre, le 16 septembre, mais elle ne sera pas visible du Canada.

Enfin, le 22 septembre, l’été prendra officiellement fin. Ceci est l’équinoxe d’automne (pour l’hémisphère nord, et bien sûr l’équinoxe de printemps pour les personnes qui vivent dans l’hémisphère sud). Ce jour-là, le Soleil traversera (sur son chemin apparent, l’écliptique) l’équateur céleste du nord au sud, de sorte que la durée de la nuit sera égale à celle du jour — après cette date, les nuits deviennent plus longues que les jours, jusqu’au solstice de décembre.

Alors bienvenue en automne, mais avant de dire aurevoir à l’été, il y a un évènement de plus en septembre.

De toutes les planètes que vous pouvez voir à l’œil nu, Mercure est la plus difficile à détecter. La raison n’est pas que Mercure n’est pas assez brillant ; elle l’est. Mais en même temps, elle est trop proche du Soleil ; la plupart du temps, elle est cachée dans l’éclat du Soleil, et il n’y a que quelques jours où vous avez une bonne chance de la voir. C’est étrange, mais la vérité est que de nombreux astronomes amateurs ne l’ont jamais vue !

Le meilleur moment pour observer Mercure est quand elle atteint un point appelé « plus grande élongation ». C’est le moment où Mercure est à la plus grande distance angulaire du Soleil, ce qui signifie que vous avez une chance de la voir avant le lever ou après le coucher du Soleil.

Mercure entre la Lune et le Soleil
Mercure entre la Lune et le Soleil, avec quelques reflets de caméra. Cliquer pour agrandir.
Image gracieuseté de Starry Night, une compagnie Simulation Curriculum.

Le 28 septembre, Mercure sera à sa plus grande élongation ouest. Elle sera ainsi à l’ouest du Soleil, et se lèvera environ une heure et demie avant celui-ci. Si vous voulez la voir, vous devez vous réveiller un peu tôt ; Mercure se lèvera à 5 h 15 HAE, et si vous avez un ciel clair et une vue dégagée vers l’est, alors vous pourrez la voir avant le lever du Soleil. Bonne chance !

J’espère que vous apprécierez votre aventure sous le ciel étoilé de septembre. N’hésitez pas à nous raconter votre expérience !



 

 

© 2017 Astronomie-Québec et ses collaborateurs · Tous droits réservés